starting on a journey...

sorabji.com: What have you done?: starting on a journey...
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By
Kymical on Monday, January 10, 2000 - 12:20 am:

i have sold my car....taken the money and proceeding to run.
    i am cleaning my room this evening and letting go of things that will make me less portable. consolidating my music and my clothes, donating quite a bit to goodwill. and handing much away to my friends for safe keeping.
    it was decided this afternoon that i am to catch a train to NYC this coming wednesday to arrive on friday. i am excited, of course, but also scared. i have never done anything of this caliber before. i ran away from home when i was 17 but it wasn't like this. it wasn't like a thought out, wise, life changing decision. i knew i would come back to see my parents then. it is about the same situation as before, only i won't be stopping in some one horse town in florida, i will be landing in Penn Station with a cello and my clothes. seeking out my beatnik partner in crime, or an old japanese roommate from college.
    it is weird, cause i have been thinking if i should say goodbye to anyone here. but then i realized there is no need. life in itself isn't permanent. goodbyes are merely a feeble way of trying to make something such as life permanent. i don't know if i will be gone a year or for the rest of my life. so i think in that respect and in that light i should say goodbye to no one.
    a guy i once knew told me once "things can never stay the way they are" i have believed this, in no matter what situation, life, money, etc. things truly can never stay the way they are. there will always be variations. as far as life in concerned of course.
    so my toast for any dinner engagement and for the year
    "to broken bottles, canceled checks and nyc."

By J on Monday, January 10, 2000 - 01:21 am:

Everything happens for a reason.