Make something of my life

sorabji.com: What have you failed to do?: Make something of my life
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).
By Jim aka PajamaBoy on Wednesday, March 4, 1998 - 12:36 pm:
    Pull up a chair folks and have a seat.

I will be 29 years old in exactly 46 days. One year shy of a new decade. And what do I have to show for it? Hmmm? Nada as far as I can tell. I graduated highschool in June 1987. Did not, do not, and will not ever have any collegiate ambitions. Basically loafed and loafed from graduation until March 1988 when I started working for the local telephone company as a 411 (Information) operator. This was my very first job, and I HATED it more than life. But one truly spectacular thing did dome of this job. I met my very best friend in this world, Linda. I thank God everyday that she is in my life. Her kids feel like stepchildren to me. From this job I went on to collecting past due telephone bills. Now this is a MAJOR step up from being an operator. Met some very nice people here too, but was still unfulfilled. While a bill collector I got my driver's liscence one week after my 22nd birthday. Two months later I was the proud owner of a new car. BRAND spanking new. Roughly one year later, My father died (we were not close and I am beginning to regret this, as in retrospect people really were not as bad as they seemed.. *sigh*). One week later one of my most beloved aunts passed away. This crushed me. It was such a shock. To this day I can still hear her voice and her very happy guffaw style laugh. The autumn of that same year I moved out on my own into a one bedroom apartment. I loved and still love being independant and on my own. But I needed some companionship. Alas, my darling cat. She brings a smile to my life atleast once a day, even when I feel the lowest of the low. Winter of 1994 was absolutely horrible and by now I am a Sales Rep with the phone company and LOVING that job. A cousin died of L