requiring data on New York..

sorabji.com: I need advice: requiring data on New York..
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By
Kymical in motion on Monday, November 29, 1999 - 03:08 pm:

i am going to transfer to new york in fall of 2000.
    going to school. having to do it correctly.
    major:photography

problem: raised in texas and scared of the "big city"

are there rad art schools in the city? where is a choice place to live? what is cheap? what is unsafe?
    will people make fun of my accent?
    is there anything i should definately prepare for? (besides the climate?)

help please!!

By Patrick on Monday, November 29, 1999 - 03:17 pm:

yes they will make fun of your accent
    brooklyn seems cheap
    are you currently studying photography?
    I am a photography student as well
    here is my gig
    http://members.tripod.com/accustat
    there are plenty of art schools in NYC if you got the dough
    unsafe is attempting to buy crack in alphabet city (aveneue D ((is for DANGER)) ) at 3am

so i have heard anyway

swine who is a resident can give you more dibs on it though

By Mike on Monday, November 29, 1999 - 05:31 pm:

Hoboken, NJ has affordable apartments too, lots of young folks and you can be in the city in minutes on the PATH train or do you plan to live in a dorm?

I understand Alphabet city is making a comeback of sorts - haven't tried the crack there though

By Rhiannon on Monday, November 29, 1999 - 05:52 pm:

We have family friends who live between Aves. C and D on 7th St. We saw them in October, and it's a nice neighborhood.

On the other hand, there's a Cop Shoot Cop (circa 1994) song that's full of images of decay and degradation, with the line "found ourselves on B and 3rd one more time." This must have been before the renovation.

By Kymmi aka Ultra 7 on Monday, November 29, 1999 - 06:51 pm:

currently i am studying....and i figured i should pay for it. or something like that.