Meeting an online friend in person

sorabji.com: I need advice: Meeting an online friend in person
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By AKA on Monday, February 21, 2000 - 08:07 pm:

This isn't your usual meeting. I've been talking to this guy for about 9 months off and on. We've found that one of the thing we have in common is bondage. We are both switches, he prefers sub and so do I. We have played online, and we both want to do it in person. So yesterday, he told me he could fly to my town and stay with me for the weekend. Being that I live in campus housing, we decided that we could stay at a hotel.
    Ok here's the part i need advice on. Should i do it or not? For one, I have a boyfriend, but it is not going well between us, and I have considered breaking up with him. He pretty much refuses to do the bondage thing.
    What do you guys think?

By agatha on Monday, February 21, 2000 - 09:22 pm:

don't do it.

By JusMiceElf on Monday, February 21, 2000 - 09:50 pm:

Sounds pretty sketchy to me.

By Rhiannon on Monday, February 21, 2000 - 10:13 pm:

Sounds very sketchy to me.

If you decide to ignore our advice and go through with it, make sure you alert several people in the area and tell them where you're going, so they know where they can start looking for your body when they don't hear from you.

By AKA on Monday, February 21, 2000 - 10:22 pm:

Where to start looking for my body? That makes me feel safe...
    I planned on telling my roomate all that.
    So why does it sound sketchy?

By Rhiannon on Monday, February 21, 2000 - 10:42 pm:

A) A man you have never met before B) is going to come and stay with you for a while and C) inflict pain upon you while D) you are incapable of resistance. This doesn't sound sketchy?

By AKA on Monday, February 21, 2000 - 11:29 pm:

Ok good point.
    I guess that was the horny part of me talking.
    I decided not to do it.
    Thanks for helping.