good graduation presents?

sorabji.com: I need advice: good graduation presents?
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By sarah on Monday, May 13, 2002 - 04:53 pm:

i am going to a college graduation this weekend and i want to get the woman who is graduating something special, fun, or unique. she earned a BA in advertising - with an emphasis in creative rather than business. but she's also in queue to be considered for a teaching internship. she wants to teach elementary school.

anyway. i don't want to give her money or a gift certificate. but i'm totally stumped. all i got when i graduated was $$.

any ideas?

and please don't say Graduation Barbie - she already got one for high school graduation.

By heather on Monday, May 13, 2002 - 05:13 pm:

a printer

a puppy

drugs

a book

brownies

any combination of the above

graduation barbie, you can never have too many

By patrick on Monday, May 13, 2002 - 05:22 pm:

a batch of pot brownies goes over well.

By LoneStranger on Monday, May 13, 2002 - 05:43 pm:

Big black rubber dong.

Or a rubber fist. Though, the question is, balled up fist, or fingertips together?

LS

By Dougie on Monday, May 13, 2002 - 06:47 pm:

I had a similar situation with my sister a month ago and had no idea what to get her, so I sent her Omaha Steaks. Nothing says congrats like a big box of cow flesh.

By eri on Monday, May 13, 2002 - 06:58 pm:

What is something specific to the field she could use? My best friend graduated from nursing school and wanted some thing for CPR aid that was at medical supply stores for $15.

If your friend is working on the creative side of advertising, then is there some art tool she could use? Or if she is going to teach is there some book about that grade you could get her?

When all else fails, a special bracelet or something like that works great!

By Dougie on Monday, May 13, 2002 - 07:20 pm:

Nah, no artsy-fartsy or useful stuff, go for the gusto -- MEAT.