building a crossbar

sorabji.com: I need advice: building a crossbar
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By patrick on Wednesday, June 5, 2002 - 02:38 pm:

Ok.

So in a week and a half an idea ive been simmering for two years will come alive.

i finally found the right subject.

the hanging nude. not hanging as in rope/neck/nuese. not hanging as in hog tied and pulled up with a pulley (although we have that device in my studio that i may try) but hanging as in hanging from a crossbar on their own strength, drawing out the muscles and exagerrating the definition in the limbs.

I need to build this. Any suggestions how?

Bear in mind, its ideal if it can be adjustable but not necessary.

Im on a slim budget.

It needs to be at least 6 1/2 feet to accommodate even the tallest of models.

in our studio we have these 2 adjustable IV stands with 1" wide loops at the top. I thought about just getting a strong enough pipe, running it through the loops and doing it that way. But i try and be better than a piece-meal carpenter.

any ideas will be greatly appreciated

By Spider on Wednesday, June 5, 2002 - 03:01 pm:

A BDSM equipment store might sell something you could use. LA has to have places like this.

By patrick on Wednesday, June 5, 2002 - 03:12 pm:

sure but what they have are more like cuffs that wrap around the wrists. We already have that...in which a person is hoisted up with a pulley device. its mounted from a brace in the ceiling. a performance group who rehersed there donated it to the studio.

in that case, the model is not holding themselves up though, and that the difference.

and yes, there are all kinds of BSDM stores here in fact one right down the street from my house.

By patrick on Wednesday, June 5, 2002 - 03:16 pm:

think in terms of a crossbar that say a gymnast would use. thats what i need.

By Spider on Wednesday, June 5, 2002 - 03:17 pm:

Maybe a place that sells weight-lifting equipment?