life after splitting up

sorabji.com: I need advice: life after splitting up
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By Cyclobird on Monday, August 18, 2003 - 02:54 pm:

So, this is it. After three years together, I am considering splitting up with my girlfriend. I feel that she doesn't have the level of commitment I have in our relationship. And that's very unsatisfying and frustrating to me.
    For work reasons, we're living now in different cities and it's always me who flies to see her. I've been flying to see her in a monthly basis for several months. She's never flown to see me: didn't have the money, didn't have the time, did have to go home to see her parents...
    I'm really pissed off. I see myself making big efforts to keep our relationship alive and I find little reward. When we're together it's great, we have a fantastic time. But when it comes to making decisions, to sacrifice, it's 90% sure I'll be the one to sacrifice. It's been like that for the whole three years, they've all been filled with bigger or smaller sacrifices, always my sacrifices.