slowly, but surely, I am dying

sorabji.com: Drunken ramblings: slowly, but surely, I am dying
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By Pink on Monday, September 27, 1999 - 04:51 am:

It's true. I know I am. I work in a lab. I have access to every test we know. That's the best part of working in the health care system, I can do my own testing! It's free. Anyway, my body is taking a beating. My ALT level is high and my Uric Acid level is elevated. In layman's terms: the ALT level, being high, is a sure sign of liver necrosis...meaning my liver is taking a whooping. The Uric Acid elevation states that Gout is on the way. Both are definite signs of alcoholism.

I don't know why I would relay this onto you guys. I'm not looking for pity...maybe a little prevention for you. I thought I was indestructible, nothing could bring me down. I was wrong. After years of ingesting too many drugs, too much, waaaay too much booze, I thought I was a lifer. A poster child for those who have been there with me and before me. It isn't true anymore. I'm just pathetic.

I can only hope to get out of this funk. I don't hate myself. I can't operate on a "sober" level. I don't go into work drunk, not lately. I don't feel like I can connect with any emotion without being tanked. Sad to say. The "juice" has taken over. Every week, I state that I WILL refuse to indulge. Never happens. So the cycle goes.

It's just all too real. I may be dying by leaps and bounds, or little by little. I don't have the drive to stop it.

By J on Monday, September 27, 1999 - 12:34 pm:

Welcome to my world Pink. I think if I sobered up,I,d have a nervous break down

By Swine on Monday, September 27, 1999 - 12:49 pm:

jesus.

i need a drink.

By Waffles on Monday, September 27, 1999 - 01:23 pm:

pour me one while yer at it......................

so i can accept my fate with the usual skewed sense of reality

By Droopy on Monday, September 27, 1999 - 01:53 pm: