a confession

sorabji.com: What is the cruelest thing you ever did?: a confession
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By Nate on Saturday, June 8, 2002 - 09:27 pm:

i'm a 72 year old professor of english lit at cal poly. i invented the 'nate' character to test some thoughts i had about cyber communities and interactions. chordata, interested in the psychological implications of my project, assisted me. the picture that you've all seen is one of my students (and my lover, as strange as that may sound.)

i apologize to anyone who's life might have been harmed in this experiment. However, i don't expect this should change anything. How important is honest perception in this media? who will ever know? what difference does it make when words are words, ideas are ideas and life does not exist in corpreal spaces?

By dave. on Saturday, June 8, 2002 - 09:56 pm:

sweet!

By Johann public on Saturday, June 8, 2002 - 11:03 pm:

either that's a cruel joke, or a really amazing work of...art?

By Nate on Saturday, June 8, 2002 - 11:10 pm:

my real name is Rob Levandowski.

me

By J on Sunday, June 9, 2002 - 12:54 am:

If you can live with that,so can I.

By Levan nate on Sunday, June 9, 2002 - 02:25 am:

from now on i'll post as my real life nickname, Levan.

By Spider on Sunday, June 9, 2002 - 02:14 pm:

Does Heather know?

By Levan on Sunday, June 9, 2002 - 02:33 pm:

she must.

i bet that's not even her real name.

By eri on Sunday, June 9, 2002 - 03:18 pm:

If that is you in the picture, you sure the hell don't look like a 72 year old professor. I am confused now.

By bongo on Sunday, June 9, 2002 - 03:37 pm:

excuse me.

i ply girls with marijuana. talk about confused.

By Levan on Sunday, June 9, 2002 - 05:32 pm:

recycle for the future.

By Dr. Professor Longhair from New Orleans on Sunday, June 9, 2002 - 05:41 pm:

I'm a lumberjack and I'm ok

la la lahh. . oh . . .

By bongo on Sunday, June 9, 2002 - 05:57 pm:

straight up