yoga

sorabji.com: What is your definition of Heaven?: yoga
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By sarah on Thursday, March 20, 2003 - 05:19 pm:

so i've been practicing yoga for about 8 years now. but it's only been in the last 2-3 years that it has taken a multidimensional role in my life. and it's only been in the last 12-18 months that i've noticed dramatic leaps in the advancement of my practice.

i can do some crazy ass shit with my body now.

just last night i did this. i can also go from that posture (called crow pose) right into a headstand.

i also can do scorpion pose, though i've never done it with a partner like it's pictured. for a year i needed a wall to catch myself from falling over, but recently i can do it without a wall.

yoga has become one of the most important things in my life. balance, strength, agility, flexibility, meditation, breathing - everything about it can be applied to every aspect of life.

nobody else here ever talks about yoga though. do any of you do it?

By kazoo on Thursday, March 20, 2003 - 05:26 pm:

that's awesome. I've been thinking seriously about taking up yoga...actually the paragraph on your site about it was what made me start thinking about it again. I forgot to mention that.

my father took yoga for years and would bring me every now and then. I bet I looked cute trying to imitate all the adults.

If the past three years (and especially the six months) are any indication about what the rest of my gradschool career is going to be like (which is another 4 years at least), I need to figure out a way to deal with the the extremes that my mood, self-perception, and bodily functions go through.

By eri on Thursday, March 20, 2003 - 05:47 pm: