study of self on internet

sorabji.com: The Stalking Post: study of self on internet
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By
Lorraine on Thursday, December 28, 2000 - 08:28 pm:

Hi everyone

I am a final year Psychology student in Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland. For my final year project, I am investigating how people using the internet for social purposes act out different parts of their selves online – that is, express parts of themselves that they would not normally in everyday life.

If you use the Internet for social interaction and if you present your self online as someone different from your self in real life (e.g. if you play a character online or just behave in a way that you feel is different from how you are in everyday life) I would be grateful if you would complete my short questionnaire. If you meet the above criteria and if you are interested, please contact me on the following e-mail address for more information and the questionnaire:

self_study@excite.co.uk

All participants in this study are guaranteed complete confidentiality and will receive a copy of the completed report in March.

Thank you for your time

Lorraine Seery

By M. Klopot on Thursday, December 28, 2000 - 09:02 pm:

Hi, I believe I qualify for your study. I would like to help you in your research. Please contact me with the details.

By Daniel ssss on Friday, December 29, 2000 - 12:55 am:

Social interaction yes, present differently from real life, no. You might contact Sarah T. at navelgazer.com as she has does some great research into the nature of online culture, or Derek P. at the fray.org. You will find some amazing "social interaction" /real sharing /real honesty for the most part here at sorabji.

Most poseur don't stay here long.

By Nate on Friday, December 29, 2000 - 01:24 am:

surely Daniel, you have to assume that most people here are not exactly their sorabjiite personas.