Flood Of Despair

sorabji.com: The Stalking Post: Flood Of Despair
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By Wet Texan on Tuesday, July 9, 2002 - 05:30 pm:

By patrick on Tuesday, July 9, 2002 - 05:58 pm:

i hope droop outfitted his chair with pontoons and a buoyant cooler.

Los Angeles has the lowest rainfall totals in nearly 100 years at this very moment.

This place just needs an one errant match.

Moreover, when the rains do come, Malibu will officially be below sea level.

By The Watcher on Wednesday, July 10, 2002 - 06:12 pm:

Maryland would be glad to take some of the Texas rain too.

By sarah on Thursday, July 11, 2002 - 12:38 am:

i think droopy is fine. he's well north of the flooding.

i too am north of the flooding, but closer to it than droopy is. we've had enough rain to keep my garden very, very lush and happy, without the use of hose water. as an unexperienced texas resident, i would say this is VERY rare for texas summers.

the rains began exactly one day after i completed rowing lessons. i was going to join the rowing club, but the city has banned the river (Town Lake) of recreational boating. they've even opened up the dam at Lake Travis, which flooded out the river and riverside properties. very sad. but maybe i'll be able to join the club next month, or in september.

By patrick on Thursday, July 11, 2002 - 12:20 pm:

i still like to think of droop floating down main street with a pontoon outfitted chair, in a wife beater, sluggin a bottle of tequila.

By Spider on Thursday, July 11, 2002 - 01:58 pm:

I miss droopy.

*MOURN*

He promised he'd write me, but I haven't gotten anything yet, so I guess he just don't love me no more. I sent him a postcard today of a man holding a sign that says "I'M DESPERATE," and on the back I wrote these words:

Men you been lookin' all around for the women
    But they always been right there
    Nowadays a woman has to haul off and hit a man
    T' make him know she's there