the lineup for course selection.

sorabji.com: What is your definition of hell?: the lineup for course selection.
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By
Sister on Friday, November 5, 1999 - 02:44 pm:

i hate school even more now. 3 hours and 45 minutes standing in line in the BASEMENT of the university center, and guess what i'm taking? apiculture. that's right... beekeeping. i'm a fine arts student and i'm taking beekeeping. i couldn't get into sociology which i really really wanted to take. now i'm going to be behind in by two full courses. how could everything be all filled up already? or CLOSED like the stern woman at the desk said?? i went on my right day... i went early in the morning... i don't understand what i did wrong. i am paying five billion dollars a year to study courses i have no interest in. dropping out is looking more and more like the smart thing to do. i can't handle this anymore. nothing is going right and this is turning out to be WORSE than high school if that's even possible. UGH!

By Rhiannon on Friday, November 5, 1999 - 03:29 pm:

Beekeeping sounds kind of cool.

Did you know that the Romans thought that if your hive died, all you had to do was beat a cow to death and your bees would be resurrected? (Virgil, Georgics IV) -- thanks to a class in Roman culture that I did not want to take at first and then LOVED after the second week. I still read my old books. Like Suetonius. Now that is exciting reading! Did you know that the emperor Nero liked to tie men and women to stakes, and then he would dress up as a wild animal and be released from a cage and then "attack their private parts with sticks"?