Drivers

sorabji.com: Weeds: Drivers
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By Platypus on Monday, August 4, 2003 - 12:08 am:

Ok, so I don't know if this is a California thing or what, but what is going ON with people's driving skills? I'm not saying I'm a great driver, but really. I mean, REALLY.

Today I drove a total of 20.5 miles, to and from work. In the course of this 20.5 miles:

1. Ambulance, sirens blaring, lights flashing, comes screaming down the road. I pull over. No one else does. Everyone flies right past me and then refuses to let me back on the road after the ambulance has left. Pulling over for an ambulance isn't a legal thing like pulling over for a stop sign, it's an ethical obligation. It could be ME in that ambulance, it could be YOU, and the hospital was still a good 20 minutes from that ambulance.

2. Woman in HUGE lexus suv passes me on the RIGHT in the breakdown lane, which is really only half a lane, forcing me into oncoming traffic. Procedes to flip me off when I cast a glance of irritation. (All hands note that the speed limit is 55 and I was going easily 70, speaking of bad driving).

3. Youngish couple in HUGE Ford suv manages to hit a bird (?) tossing it back onto the hood of my car--then feels an obligation to slow down to twenty miles an hour in a 55, I guess out of contrition.

4. Toyota pickup with Colorada plates stuck behind me and said suv procedes to pass me on a bridge with oncoming traffic, causing great consternation for all--is still stuck behind the origional, slow offender.

5. Lady attempting to parallel park behind me manages to take off a huge chunk of my bumper, does not apologize or offer any info, drives off. I have her plate no., was thinking of calling DMV.