who needs psychotherapy when you have dreams like this?

sorabji.com: Dreamland: who needs psychotherapy when you have dreams like this?
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By
Sarah on Monday, September 21, 1998 - 05:51 am:

i had a very bizarre dream the other night. i dreamt that i came home one day to find my mother and her whole side of my family at my house. they wanted to "surprise" me by showing up for my grad school commencement ceremony/graduation/whatever. except that i hadn't planned on walking through the ceremony (and in real life i graduated a few years ago). i didn't have a gown or hat, not to mention that you have to register to walk weeks beforehand. so as i was explaining this to them, my mother pulled my old green gown out from when i graduated from MSU and said to wear it. but that didn't solve the problem that i couldn't just show up for ceremony on a whim. the more i tried to convince them of this, the more they insisted i just go and do it so they can watch me and take photos.

frustrated and amazed, i went back to my bedroom and my whole room was moved around. my mother came in and said that while she waited for me to come home, she had fixed up my room for me. not only was i upset that she had been so invasive, but my room looked terrible. the closet was 1/2 blocked by my shelves, and the bed was in the wrong place... etc. and i had to pretend that i liked it because she thought she had done something nice for me.