had a complete stranger completely alter your day for the better?

sorabji.com: Have you ever...: had a complete stranger completely alter your day for the better?
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By Waffles on Wednesday, October 6, 1999 - 06:08 pm:

Ok, so I am sitting on a railing outside my office bldg on a busy/touristy section of Hollywood Blvd. I am reading the essays that preface this new book I got called "The Camera I" a collection of photographer self portraits. As I am sitting there reading, these two mid aged men, conservative looking black men walk by me, one stops and looks over my shoulder as if he is checking out what I am reading. I look up and he asks what exactly I am reading. I respond I am a photographer reading up on self portraiture and looking at examples from an exhibit from 94. He asks where my work is. I respond....uh well it's mostly at home...certainly not in here (pointing to the book). He pats me on the shoulder and says "some day, keep working at it, good luck." and continues walking talking to his buddy. Mystified, excited, touched......

Total random stranger totally lifted my otherwise very depressing day.....I believe these things happen for a reason....my wife in partucular has had some strange but rather interesting cab rides like this, one I have witnessed. Sort of a angelic character walking the earth reminding the living not to forget about living.....

Have things like this happened to you?

Oh and also one of my random po dunk customers called from Augusta GA, asking if he could purhcase books using a Shell (gas) card.......that got this whole office stirred up into a frenzy...........from such a bleak and internally violent morning to a not so bad afternoon. i wanna go home and work on some pictures...i feel good, i have a lot say

By Rhiannon on Wednesday, October 6, 1999 - 06:28 pm: