had an epiphany?

sorabji.com: Have you ever...: had an epiphany?
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By Wisper on Monday, December 20, 1999 - 01:55 am:

I'm on the town bus to a friends house when it stops at a traffic light in front of a sandwich shop whose front window says (in huge day-glo fast food letters): VEAL SALAMI STEAK SEAFOOD VEGGI
    and I glance at it and ponder how goddamn sick and cruel I think veal is, and in the blink of an eye something snaps in my head, something I've been fighting with for a few months now. I'll never eat meat again. It's sick. Up until the moment on the bus I had been struggling with giving up only two things (shrimp and bacon...*lol*) but at that moment I suddenly did not care anymore. Fuck it. I don't care if I never eat bacon again. And shrimp...well....I'll have to say goodbye to shrimp. I'm over it. I don't want to eat dead animals ever again.

help me.
    any tips? food hints? threats? I'm going to do this gradually......

By Gee on Monday, December 20, 1999 - 02:02 am:

Don't be too strict with yourself. You'll go crazy.

Welcome back to the warm glow of our love.

By agatha on Monday, December 20, 1999 - 02:20 am:

just don't eat it anymore. it's really easy.

By Bk on Monday, December 20, 1999 - 03:15 am:

easiest thing to do is stop eating completely

By cyst on Monday, December 20, 1999 - 09:39 am:

wisper, if we ever go out to a restaurant together, I will gladly eat all your shrimp.

I'd do anything to help my broad-minded friends with their vegetarian lifestyle choices.

By Nate on Monday, December 20, 1999 - 11:12 am:

oh man, shrimp wrapped in bacon and fried. oh jesus, that's good.