Starve to death?

sorabji.com: Are there any news?: Starve to death?
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By spunky on Wednesday, October 15, 2003 - 10:59 am:

I have always told Eri that if I had some sort of accident that leaves me brain dead, or in such a state that I could not live without a respirator or some machine to keep me alive, then she should let me go.
    But, this story gives me pause.

I am not a medical expert, so I may be off base here, but....

This woman's heart and lungs work perfectly. The only thing she cannot do is eat by herself.
    She is not brain dead, she is not comatose.
    She is disabled, mentally, but not vegitative.
    She has been in the hospital on a feeding tube for 13 years.

Again, that is not the life I personally would choose, but damn.
    If they take the feeding tube out, she will lay there and starve to death for 7 days.

By eri on Wednesday, October 15, 2003 - 11:38 am:

Wow, that is just one fucked up story. I mean. Why doesn't the husband listen to the doctors? Why did he refuse the test to see if she can swallow? Why would he want her dead if she is obviously not in a vegetative state all of the time? I just don't understand.

Don't worry honey, if this were the case with you, I can guarantee that you would live.

By J on Wednesday, October 15, 2003 - 11:52 am:

Apparently he wants her dead,this is TOO sad.Why is Jeb turning his back on this? As Swine would say where is the humanity?

By spunky on Wednesday, October 15, 2003 - 12:26 pm:

It's murder. The lady is semi-responsive, and I cannot understand why, if there is even the slimmest chance of recovery, a husband would ever consider this.

By Spider on Wednesday, October 15, 2003 - 12:42 pm: