Jim, I'm a Doctor, not a Lawmaker!

sorabji.com: Who are you?: Jim, I'm a Doctor, not a Lawmaker!
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By Antigone on Sunday, June 29, 2003 - 07:38 pm:

Senate majority leader endorses gay marriage ban

My favorite quote is from the very end:

"Generally, I think matters such as sodomy should be addressed by the state legislatures," Frist said. "That's where those decisions with the local norms, the local mores are being able to have their input in reflected.

"And that's where it should be decided, and not in the courts."

M'kay. Last I checked, state legislatures passed laws.

Courts interpret laws.

So far so good.

So, if a legislature passes a law about sodomy, the court should interpret it. Right?

Obviously, Frist's training as a doctor didn't prepare him for this complicated law stuff...

It's all moot, anyway. Any time a politician says they support a constitutional amendment to for anything, they're basically saying, "OK. I give up. But I'm going to back this meaningless amendment that has no chance of passing just to cover my political ass."

By wisper on Monday, June 30, 2003 - 01:07 pm:

Meanwhile, in Canada....

What a great GayDay it was on sunday. Perfect slightly cool weather and everything.
    The two lawyer guys, Michael Leshner and Michael Stark, who overturned the marriage laws here and were the first gay people to get legally married, led the parade in a big white limo with a 'Just Married' sign on the back! The cheering was intense! I'm so glad i got to see them, i would have screamed out that they were heroes or something but to tell you the truth i was all teary with pride i was in no shape to talk.
    Followd by 10 or 20 other couples, some carrying american flags that said: 'Just Married- Thank You Canada!'
    Almost started crying all over the place.
    What a marvelous time to be here.

the newspaper says: