Long distance relationships

sorabji.com: I need advice: Long distance relationships
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By Skachick on Tuesday, July 13, 1999 - 11:52 pm:

Okay..... so here is my situation:

Do any of you have that image of your soulmate in your head? Do you have those dreams of the "perfect" mate? I have always had this image in my head and in a way it's kind of bad. I have always compared guys to the image and it's made me quite picky. Well, I am young, I just graduated high school and I am going away to college soon. So now that you have heard my introduction:

Two days after I graduated I went on a trip with family and friends. This is where I met the guy. He is a friend of my cousin's friend. I began the week knowing that this was just a vacation fling. In six days I would go home and put it behind me. But as the week went on I got so wrapped up in him that I forgot home and when I remembered it, it was the last place I wanted to be. He said he'd visit and I (being a negative person) said yeah right. He said he'd call and I responded the same. You see, he lives 6 hours away from me and everyone knows that longdistance relationships don't work. But to prove himself right that he would visit, he got on the phone and got plane tickets. Within two days after I got home from the trip, he was there. We spent another week together and then he was gone. It's been a week and a half since he left and we haven't had a real conversation. He is impossible to get a hold of. He calls every once and a while and then has to go. I know the logical thing to do would be to just give up but I have hope that it'll work out because I am going to be going to college 2 hours from him. I really like him and I don't want to let him go. His mom has also been in the hospital and this could be the main reason that I haven't been able to talk to him.