New Payphone Ideas

sorabji.com: The Payphone Project: New Payphone Ideas
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).

By
Mr. Payphone on Thursday, January 18, 2001 - 11:23 am:

I'm a payphone product manager in a very large RBOC. What types of services would you like to see at payphones in your area? If you could get free information with the touch of a button, would you seek out a specific brand of payphone? If the price of a call could be billed to your home number, would you use the payphone more often? What could we do to discourage you from using your cell phone and encourage you to use the payphone?

By J on Thursday, January 18, 2001 - 12:14 pm:

Make them free.Take that pay off that phone.

By Mr. Payhone on Thursday, January 18, 2001 - 01:44 pm:

The revenue that is earned from a payphone is shared by a number of people. The majority of calls "sold" at payphones are in a sense, free. Dial around traffic (calls to 800 numbers etc.) represent a significant portion of the calls generated by a phone. Although the company that provides the 800 number gets the revenue for the network traffic, the payphone provider is lucky to get 24-cents in PCC. The payphone user ties up a resource to place the call, but usually pays nothing. The location owner also gets a significant cut of the payphone revenue. What's left is used to pay the line expense, equipment costs, labor, and permit fees. The payphone provider earns a profit only if there is anything left over. The sad truth is.....if they were free, they wouldn't exist. Even advertiser subsidized services like free ISPs are finding that they have to charge something to survive. Nothing is free. All limited resources have a value. Would it help if the payment was delayed?

By Trace on Thursday, January 18, 2001 - 02:04 pm: