the drive by

sorabji.com: Are you pissed off?: the drive by
THIS IS A READ-ONLY ARCHIVE FROM THE SORABJI.COM MESSAGE BOARDS (1995-2016).
By Sarah on Wednesday, April 15, 1998 - 08:40 pm:
    so i'm on my way to the record store on my lunch hour to pick up some blank tapes. and i'm waiting to turn left in the left turn lane. at a light. and this man behinds me starts honking his horn and signaling for me to turn left.

there is no green left arrow. there is no yellow light yet. there is a huge stream of oncoming traffic. i do not have the right of way.

now, i'm an extremely aggressive driver. i'm from detroit, for fuck's sakes. but there is no way in hell i'm going to turn left into oncoming traffic.

so the man behind me, in his faded blue box of a car, starts pulling up next to me on my left, as if to bypass me and make his left turn while i sit there. either he's stupid or does not see the traffic coming straight at him. in any case, he's about to cause a serious accident, one that i don't want to be involved in.

so i inch up a bit and pull in to the left to cut him off - not to be rude, but to prevent his inevitable folly. he honks again. within seconds my blood starts to boil. i try to remain calm, chanting my aloha mantra. i'm wearing a plumeria behind my ear today. i'm begging the traffic light to hurry and turn yellow.

but it's no use. this guy is determined to, for whatever impatient, irrational reason, make his left turn. and his honking persists. and he's not even a white guy.

i'm floating above myself as i open my car door and step out of my car, right there in the middle of the goddamned intersection. i approach him. his window is down. he has the oh-shit look in his eyes, even though i'm only 5 foot 3. i say calmly to him,

"What the FUCK is your problem, asshole?"

he looks astonished. he says,

"Why don't you turn left?"

"Because I don't want to get myself killed turning into oncoming traffic."